top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAllyson Anderson

Advice By Allyson

Updated: Feb 26, 2022


Remember, this is anecdotal evidence and should be used at your own discretion.


Tip #1 - Self-Advocacy


The foundation of self-advocacy is knowing what you need to succeed and being able to go for it by yourself. Throughout both middle school and high school I have learned that what "most people" do is not always the right path for me. Just because someone else regretted a decision I am about to make, doesn't mean I will regret it as well. Life is about learning, not dwelling on your regrets. I urge you to take the chance because this may be your only one. You have the power to add purpose to your own life, so don't let others live it for you.


By showing teachers and administrators that you are willing to stand up for your education, you can gain respect and voice in your community. You may also learn more about the education system and, as a result, be able to help your peers.



Tip #2 - ACT MATH


If you don't like multi-step math problems that are not traditional in nature, the ACT may be the better exam for you. All of my ACT math questions were one step and generally straight-forward. The only downside of the ACT math section is that it is very fast paced. Specifically, one minute per question. This time restriction makes up to the ease of the questions, and must be practiced to be successful on this section.


Tip #3 - Student-Teacher Relationships


You may think that your teachers don't care about you or that the work they give you is just "busy work," but they do know what they are doing and what they are talking about. Their job is very demanding and by showing them that you appreciate their work, they will be more likely to write a good recommendation for you. This does not mean that you should go around and aimlessly thank your teachers for the mere purpose of the reward...that is not genuine, it's manipulation. Instead, show them that you appreciate their work (pay attention in class, help other students, stay engaged). Additionally, when Teacher Appreciation Week rolls around in May, handwriting a letter is more personal and impactful than a bottle of lotion. They can buy lotion, they cannot buy original handwritten thoughts from a student. You will be the only one with that letter, therefore making it more special. For example, every year I keep a running list of "all the things" I appreciate about each of them, Then, I hand write the letters at the end of the year and the content of each letter is then tailored to the teacher and their class. I might include a quality I appreciate or a reference to a lesson that really resonated with me. As a bonus, I added artwork that best represented them or their class.


"Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn." – Benjamin Franklin

Tip #4 - College Essays

You aren't going to love every prompt, but you will have to answer it. If the topic is boring or slightly pretentious (some are), use this to your advantage. Show the admissions officers a new perspective on the issue you have to write about. Instead of sticking to the traditional narrative or expository essay, incorporate literary devices such as repetition, allusions, imagery, or personification to immerse your audience in your ideas. For example, I developed an extended metaphor to about paintings/a gallery to create an experience for my admissions officer instead of merely answering the prompt with a vague and direct statement.


Tip #5 - Volunteering


If you want to make a genuine impact on a community, make sure that the work you do is something you enjoy. For example, I chose volunteer opportunities that fell under the education category (BrightFutures requires students to chose an area of interest). I also made sure that I was able to see change in real-time. When I tutored at a local middle school, I could pinpoint the moment when the "light bulb" went off in a student's head. This experience was rewarding for me and the students. Furthermore, I ensured that they truly grasped the topic to guarantee success in the future instead of getting them through one math problem.


Tip #6 - Start Early!


The earlier the better. If you are able to finish your Common App personal statement before the end of August or beginning of September, you can focus the rest of your time crafting the many, many essays you will being writing for each college individually. Additionally, your English teachers will most likely be happy to read through your essay and give pointers and/or corrections.



50 views0 comments
bottom of page